museum04


 * Museum * * History * * Photo Gallery * * Ongoing Projects *
* Gift Shop *  * Contact Information * * Sites and Resources * * News and Events *
* Home * * Accommodations * * Rhea Building Fund * * Fort Wallace Memorial  Association Support *
 
Welcome To Fort Wallace Museum

Home of the "Fightin'est Fort in the West"
_____________________________





Friday, October 18


Noon MST/1:00 CST
           Welcome by Jayne Humphrey Pearce, President, Fort Wallace Memorial Association
           Open Conference:  Ken Cole, President, Smoky Hill Trail Association 

12:30 MST/1:30 CST  
           Pick Up Box Lunches and Board Bus for Tour led by Mike Baughn to
           German Family Massacre Site and Smoky Valley Ranch

5:00 MST/6:00 CST Return to Museum/Supper Served

6:00 MST/7:00 CST Fort Wallace Cemetery Tour

7:00 MST/8:00 CST Smoky Hill Trail Association Board Meeting

Saturday, October 19

8:00 am MST/9:00 CST Registration and Opening Remarks Ken Cole

8:15 am MST/9:15 CST Leo Oliva, Fort Wallace

9:15 am MST/10:15 CST Deb Goodrich, Fort Wallace Personalities

10:15 am MST     BREAK

10:30 am MST/11:30 CST David Harrington, Col Carpenter

11:30 am MST/ 12:30 CST Christopher Gabel, A Transcontinental Tragedy

12:30 pm MST    LUNCH served at Museum2:00 pm MST/3:00 CST Brenda Culbertson, Pawnee and Stars

3:00 MST             BREAK

3:15 pm MST/4:15 CST Pauline Sharp, Lucy Eads-First Woman to Lead
             the Kaw Nation

4:15 pm MST/5:15 CST Doug Scott

5:15 MST             BREAK

5:15 MST/6:15 CST Discussion/Questions/Socializing 

6:00 MST/7:00 CST Banquet/Awards/Annual Meeting/Guest Speaker Mike
         Everhart will speak on the life of Dr. Theophilus Turner

Sunday, October 20

8:00 am MST/ 9:00 am CST Introductory Remarks/Final Announcements

8:15 am MST/9:15 am CST Ken Fields, White Deer Land Office Museum

10:15 am MST/11:15am CST Sharing the German Family Story

         Nikki Jaunken Shandy, German Family Descendant and Filmmaker
         Ken Spurgeon

12:15pm MST/1:15 pm CST D. K. Clark, Fort Wallace in context of the Plains War


Conference Adjourned









 



Fort Wallace Museum
2655 Highway 40
Wallace, KS 67761
(785) 891-3564
www.ftwallace.com
museum@ftwallace.com
facebook
You can find the Fort Wallace Museum on Google Map and  travel KS      clio
Fort Wallace Memorial Association  is  501(c)3 organization set up to run the Fort Wallace Museum.
  Please contact the Museum about making a donation.
Fort Wallace Memorial will take donations through Pay Pal. .
Free admission with a suggested donation of $7 per adult.

Winter hours: Thurs., Fri., Sat.   Nov. through the 2nd Sunday of March
10am-4pm Mountain Time

Summer hours:  2nd Sunday of March through October 31
9am-5 pm Monday-Saturday and 1-5 pm Sunday Mountain Time

Exploring the Museums of Northwest Kansas

wagon exploring museums
passport


The Fort Wallace Museum is the perfect place for your family to explore! The Museum will be opening its brand-new exhibit space in the Milford Becker Addition, where you can experience Fort Wallace and the Old West in a new, exciting way! Take a seat in the reproduction BOD Stagecoach, see the facades of buildings from Wallace County History and crane your neck to see a 40-foot plesiosaur fossil found in 1867! Located just east of the town of Wallace on Highway 40! 
                                                                
 

FWMA coach